Swipe Out Hunger is a national nonprofit committed to ending college student hunger. We advise colleges and universities on the design of commonsense and innovative anti-hunger programs.

We work with colleges and universities to implement a range of anti-hunger programs across our 130+ campus network. This includes a variety of efforts:

  • On-Campus Solutions

    We help campuses launch programs to combat student hunger. Our flagship program, “The Swipe Drive, enables students with extra meal swipes or dining dollars to donate them to their peers. We serve as an expert in innovative and sustainable meal donation practices. We are excited and available to connect with any campus team looking to launch a swipe program, expand the reach of a pre-existing swipe program, or support in developing and sustaining anti-hunger programs on their campus.

  • Advocacy & Policy

    We not only advocate for legislation on a state and federal level to end student hunger, but we train students to become basic needs champions through their own advocacy efforts. 

  • Student Empowerment

    We work with colleges to ensure students are at the forefront of every campus food security program. We lift up the stories of students so that their experiences drive the national conversation on student hunger. 



  • Students donate extra meal swipes and/or dining dollars

  • Donated dollars move into Swipe fund**

  • Swipe fund is used towards:

  • Meal Swipes

  • Campus Food Pantry

** Learn more about how these Swipes get redistributed here.


In addition to authoring the original Hunger Free Campus Bill and supporting its replication, which has been passed in two states and introduced in either others, we also sponsor legislation on the state and federal level to support student food security.


SB 173 CalFresh: Postsecondary Student Eligibility: Work Study – 2019

Removes barriers to students receiving subsidies under CalFresh, in part by streamlining the application process.

AB 1278 Public Postsecondary Educational Institutions: Public Services and Programs: Internet Website Notification – 2019

Requires California public universities to include internet website-based account for an enrolled student notification of, and a link to information on, specified public services and programs, including the CalFresh program, county or local housing resources, and county or local mental health services.

SB 150 Student Financial Aid: Chafee Grant Awards – 2019

Improves access to the Chafee grant for foster youth by speeding up disbursements and creating more flexible standards for maintaining the grant.


College Student Hunger Act of 2019 introduced by by U.S. Rep. Al Lawson (FL-05) and U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) – Federal – 2019

Ensures support to students facing food insecurity and removes barriers to low-income college students accessing SNAP benefits by expanding the eligibility criteria.

Food For Thought Act, introduced by Rep. Adam Schiff (D-Ca) – Federal – 2019

Authorize $6 million a year for a pilot investment to create grants that would help provide free meals to the nation’s community college students .

AB 1862 Tuition-Free Bachelor’s Degree – 2020

Provides two years of tuition-free education at any California State University campus for any student who has received an associate degree for transfer from a California Community College and received a fee waiver through the California College Promise program.

H.R. 6201 Coronavirus Response Act – 2020

Provides paid sick leave and free coronavirus testing, expanding food assistance and unemployment benefits, and requiring employers to provide additional protections for health care workers.



In the 2019 – 2020 school year, we expanded to 38 new campuses and 10 new states.

  • 50% of students learned about the resource from a friend

  • 85% of students agreed it was an easy to access the resource

  • 75% of students are comfortable using the resource at their college

In the four years I’ve been in college, this is one of the first programs that has actually aided my needs as a first generation, low-income student.

University of California, Irvine senior